Radiation City

  • Bio
  • Listen
  • Photo
  • Video
  • Tour
  • Press
  • Contact

Enamored by modern electronic sounds but influenced by the chill tones of classic bossa records and the urgency and harmony of northern soul, Radiation City has codified seemingly disparate ideas into something equally space-aged and retro. Founded in 2009 amid the glow of one budding love affair, Radiation City quickly added a second couple to its ranks and blossomed into a full family. Debut LP The Hands That Take You quickly earned the band a reputation as one of Portland, Oregon’s most promising young acts, and the subsequent national tours—along with 2011’s Cool Nightmare EP—made good on that promise. But it was the quintet’s majestic, fully realized sophomore full-length, Animals in the Median, that secured Radiation City an audience far outside its native Portland, Oregon and inspired a full album of remixes from hip-hop producer G_Force, A Different Animal. The group is currently wrapping up work on a third full-length, recorded by underground indie rock icon and Tiny Telephone studio founder John Vanderslice.

  • Animals In The Median
    Released: May 21, 2013

    Animals In The Median

    The second full length from Radiation City, Animals in the Median, features songs recorded over the span of a year in both rural Washington and urban Portland. You can hear focused songwriting, lush arrangements, and gorgeous harmonies. You can hear the celebration and lament of a sea change year which saw the passing of matriarchs, the betrayals and betrothals of loved ones, the baring and bruising of hopeful hearts in an increasingly dangerous world. Moreover, you can hear a band edified, coming into their own in rich and simple gesture.


    1. Zombies
    2. So Long
    3. Wash Of Noise
    4. Food
    5. Foreign Bodies
    6. Wary Eyes
    7. LA Beach
    8. Entropia
    9. Buckminsterfullerene
    10. Summer Rain
    11. Lark
    12. Call Me
  • Cool Nightmare
    Released: April 10, 2012

    Cool Nightmare

    The inspiration for Cool Nightmare stems from an old piano. The piano has lived in drummer Randy Bemrose’s basement for eons. It’s old, cumbersome, and on it’s last legs. The band used sounds from the piano throughout the recording of this new EP… not just the keys though, the clicks and clacks from the body, the slamming of the lid, and virtually every other sound you can imagine making on the piano. After they were finished, the piano was beat up, out of tune, and falling apart. Having used the old piano of all it’s worth, and as a celebration of an intense year, Radiation City engaged in the ceremonial destruction of the old piano documented on the first single’s video,


    1. I Would Hide
    2. Hide From The Night
    3. Find It of Use
    4. Heart of Mine
    5. Eye Of Yours
    6. Winter Blind
    7. Hacienda
  • The Hands That Take You
    Released: September 27, 2011

    The Hands That Take You

    The Hands That Take You first saw the light of day in February 2011 when the Cameron Spies and Lizzy Ellison released the recordings on Apes Tapes, their cassette tape-only label. Owning and operating a record label put the duo in a position of musical saturation. After participating in multiple bands and side-projects, the two sat down to do it right. Radiation City is the product of intention – the cream of their musical crop. To them, it’s something special or, as Spies puts it, “almost like it’s a lady you want to treat real nice.”


    1. Babies
    2. The Color Of Industry
    3. The Things You Tell Us
    4. Summer is Not An Act 1
    5. Wading
    6. Salsaness
    7. Park
    8. Mammals
    9. Phantom Lady
    10. Construction
    11. Summer Is Not An Act 2


At the Cathedral of Junk

Find If Of Use

Hide From The Night

See all concerts

Concerts by Songkick
  • “charmingly evocative”TIME

  • “12 Bands You Should’ve Known in 2012″NPR

  • “#1 Best New Band” – Willamette Week

  • “one of the year’s more charming debuts which drifts between moody, organ-driven numbers and more upbeat pop” – Brooklyn Vegan

  • “let’s just say it’s really good.” – Nylon

  • “Seriously, no s..t, truly…this is SO good” – My Old Kentucky Blog

  • “Lizzy Ellison’s gorgeous vocals are infectiously charming.” – Elle

  • “a belly-full of magnificent dynamic tension” – Daytrotter

  • “this is superbly crafted, easily pinpointed yet unmistakably captivating, pop music” – Death + Taxes

  • “one of Portland’s more polished and promising young acts…” – Willamette Week

  • “the Velvet Underground playing lounge and bossa nova…” – The Oregonian

  • “‘The Color of Industry’ is the best pop song I’ve heard in years.” – Impose

  • “easy to place, impossible to ignore.” – Refinery 29