Skip to product information
1 of 1

TLE Music

Jared Mees & The Grown Children - Only Good Thoughts Can Stay

Jared Mees & The Grown Children - Only Good Thoughts Can Stay


  • Listen to the song "Shake"

    Only Good Thoughts Can Stay weaves dense instrumental fabric around a central narrative patchwork. Lyrically, Mees has forgone the strictly first-person storytelling found in his previous albums in favor of embodying the perspectives and personal experiences of close friends and family--many of whom experienced the trials and tribulations that provided inspiration for the record.

    TLE-029 (2011)
Regular price $9.00
Regular price $9.00 Sale price $9.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Music Format

Vinyl not eligible to upgrade to gift box


Jared Mees & the Grown Children

Track Listing

1. Hungry Like a Tiger
2. Limber Hearts
3. W.W.J.B.D.
4. Billy Bird
5. Inaudible Song II
6. Tiny Toy Piano
7. Inaudible Song I
8. Even Little Mountains
9. Juicy Fruit Prelude
10. Juicy Fruit
11. Graverobbers
12. Shake

View full details

Constant lineup changes and infrequent rehearsals would cause many bands to suffer, but they’ve become the lifeblood of Jared Mees & The Grown Children, giving the group’s live shows a devil-may-care energy and keeping the songs honest and raw. The band’s first incarnation was born on a Panamanian Island, where Mees, his wife Brianne—the co-founders of Tender Loving Empire—and two friends wrote the bulk of the songs that would eventually become If You Wanna Swim With The Sharks. After recording Sharks in L.A. with Brianne’s father, Bill Forbes, the couple moved to Portland, Oregon, and launched the fledgling Tender Loving Empire empire. Many more Grown Children incarnations would follow, each contributing to the full of the sprawling epic soundscapes and lucid lyrical imagery that Jared Mees & The Grown Children have come to be known for.

Back to Label